The “Lark Tavern”

AOA has an article up today about the new “Lark Tavern”. They’ve got a good amount of shots of the inside and and the rundown about the new owners and their plans for the new space.

Read the whole article here:

photo from mike roach

Few highlights from their comments section:

  • Nothing says “I love and respect Albany’s history” like decorating with NYC subway tiles.
  • After the fire and the fiasco afterward, I could never support any establishment associated with Mike DiNapoli, including the new Lark Tavern. I feel many others feel the same way.
  • A round corner booth? What is this? Denny’s?
  • Meh, not a fan. It’s not the Lark Tavern that I grew to love over the years. I can respect the changes and the modern look they’re trying to achieve but half the main reason why it was such a staple when Tess ran it was because it was one of the few remaining bars that had that “vintage Albany” feel to it. It had character and a personality all on its own which made it stand out from other places. This is a far cry from that and looks like Pearl St. threw up inside.
  • Dinapoli lost my business in multiple ways. Good luck on lark with this monkey on your back.
  • This could be a bar in any city.
  • it looks like a fancier version of an Applebees or some other sports bar. 11 flat screen TVs?
  • TVs are a deal breaker for me. Thanks, but if I wanted wall-to-wall LCDs blaring sports contests, there’s the Recovery Room.

Head over to their article and chime in if you have any opinions.

Quality events for this weekend vol. 31

Friday, January 6th

First Friday Albany [fbook]

7th Annual Members Show, Albany Center Gallery [fbook]

Occupy Albany Office Opening Party, 306 Hudson [fbook]

Ten Year Vamp, Erin Harkes, Emeralds of July, Chelsea Cavanaugh, Beth Zaje at Jillians [fbook]

Gregory Maxwell Dunn and MR Poulopoulos, 174 Madison [fbook]

Matt Stone, DJ Russ, Primitive, Lazerbass, Sweatpants Money, DJ Prophet, Putnam Den [fbook]

1st Friday After Party with Trumastr, Quintessence [fbook]

Saturday, January 7th

The Viking, Johnny Booth, Dawn Of The Hero, Changing Tides, Northern Lights [fbook]

Steve Layman, Mike Tash, Tony Bucci, Mike Moak, Divinyl Revolution [fbook]

Albany All Stars vs Oz Roller Girls, Washington Ave Armory [fbook]

Sunday, January 8th

Free Beer and Food: Benefit for Duncan & Teds going Away Party, Madison Grille [fbook]

Service Industry Night w/DJ Trumastr, McGearys [fbook]

Seasons Skate Shop: Benefit for Duncan & Teds going Away Party

Here’s a fun event coming your way this Sunday. Seasons is throwing a fundraiser/going away party combo for their friend with shit insurance, and their good pal who’s leaving, respectively. It’s from 5-9pm and for $5-10 (whatever you want to donate — don’t be a cheap fuck) you get free beer and food. I’ll be there with with a bunch of stickers to give out so if you want free shit I suggest you show up!

Fbook event here.

Get your drunk, sloppy ass home safely tonight

Party your dicks off tonight and hate yourself Sunday morning, but be safe and actually make it to Sunday. Get a free cab home courtesy of Martin, Harding and Mazotti:

From 10:00 PM to 2:00 AM on New Year’s Eve 2011, the firm will offer free cab rides to anyone in the areas of:

Albany, Utica, and Springfield, Massachusetts
Dial 1.800.LAW.1010 or Star-Star-LAW (**LAW or **529) on a mobile phone and you will be connected with an operator that will send a free ride from your location to your place of residence.


Or a free bus ride home from CDTA:

To help support Capital Region Stop DWI efforts, CDTA will offer free bus service at all regular bus stops from 8:00PM on New Year’s Eve, Saturday, December 31, 2011 through 1:00AM on Sunday, January 1, 2012.

Read more:

Or if you’re in Rensselaer County:

As part of the joint operation, this year the County will use 4 county owned vehicles that will be in operation from 10 p.m. New Years Eve until 2 a.m. New Years Day. The vehicles will be driven and dispatched by volunteers from various county agencies and the Community Emergency Response Team (CERT) and Sheriffs Deputies. Those interested in receiving a free, safe ride home through the joint program are urged to call 518-266-7680 during those hours of operation.

Read more:

Bonus: AAA is not offering their “Tipsy Tow” service ANYWHERE in New York State. Details on their website:

Quality events for this weekend vol. 30: NYE Smorgasboard

If I missed your event leave it in the comments!

Friday December 30th

Erin Harkes Solo at Smith’s [fbook]

Around The World And Back at Valentines [fbook]

Pre-New Years w/Party With Tina, Looney, Despereaux, Brother Suarez, The Chalk Box Kid [fbook]

Saturday December 31st

B3nson and SwordPaw New Years Eve at Valentines [fbook]

Consider The Source & Timbre Coup at Redsquare [fbook]

Red Solo Cup News Years Eve Bash at the Barrel Saloon [fbook]

Epic Open Bar Shit Show at the Pearl Street Pub [fbook]

New Year’s Eve with DJs White Lotus & EmGeeeDub at The Point [fbook]

True Year’s Year w/DJ Trumastr at Putnam Den [fbook]

Keep Albany Boring NEW YEARS at McGearys [fbook]

RIP the Crimebus (Everyones NYE travel plans just got more annoying)

The cheapest, most entertaining and impossibly fast way to get to NYC from Albany just got killed off by the Federal Government. From the blurb:

The U.S. Department of Transportation’s Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) has ordered Double Happyness Travel, Inc., of Huntingdon Valley, Pa., to immediately cease all intrastate and interstate passenger service declaring the carrier an “imminent hazard” to public safety. This order follows an extensive review of the company’s operations, which found multiple hours-of-service, vehicle maintenance, and controlled substance and alcohol testing violations.

I’ve always just outright dismissed any other way to travel to NYC and I’m pained that I actually have to figure out alternative methods of getting down there, not to mention their super relaxed bicycle policy (toss it in and you’re all set). What a shame.

Read the whole article here.

#Occupy Albany: D22 day of eviction

Film maker Bhawin Suchak shares with us his video from December 22nd when Occupy Albany was evicted. He writes:

On December 22nd the Occupy Albany encampment at Academy Park was forcibly removed by The City of Albany. This short documentary follows the days events as they unfolded from afternoon to evening as the protestors defended the information tent and marched around the city and then were pepper sprayed by police upon returning to Academy Park.

Great work and thanks for sharing!